1 Day old chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Mother Hen55, Jan 31, 2009.

1. Mother Hen55

Mother Hen55 New Egg

Jan 1, 2009
    [​IMG][​IMG] Can someone please help this confused lady, I am new to this chicken thing and I will be the first to admit I don't know that much so I decided since you all seem so helpful I would ask you. This week I will be ordering 1 day old chicks from Meyer Hatchery in Ohio and they ask about Mareks vaccination should I have them vaccinated or not, or should I buy medicated feed at 9.00 a 5# bag. Also I have ran across many web sights where they tell you different amounts to clip their wings but don't say when . So when is the best time to clip them my neighbor has 13 week old chicks and he says not to clip them till 20 weeks but wont they fly out of the yard. I anyone can set this old lady straight it would help:lol:[​IMG]

2. CrazyChickieMama

CrazyChickieMama Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2008
    Bolton, NC
    First of all [​IMG]

Second: There are some people who vaccinate and some who don't. I haven't gotten mine vaccinated, and haven't had any issues. I just keep new ones away from the old til they've been in quarantine for a while.
    There are A LOT of people on here who are awesome about this. They'll soon come to your aid!!!!!

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Welcome to BYC!
    This question of whether to vaccinate or not was recently discussed here:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=126428

As for clipping wings, I haven't a clue. It never occured to me to clip my chicken's wings, but then again I have a heavy breed that can't fly. Even if mine could fly, they'd only succeed in going from one side of the fence to the other vs. just walking around it.

4. the1much

the1much Currently Birdless Hippy