1 Year Old Chochin Rooster throwing up "water"

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by panzer, Sep 3, 2009.

1. panzer

panzer New Egg

Sep 3, 2009
    Hanford, California
    Hello Everyone!

My name is Pamela and I am very new to haveing chickens in our backyard and we are loving it! [​IMG] We have 9 other chickens in with our one rooster and he seems to be having a new problem. I cant seem to find anything online to help so I was wondering if any of you would have a clue of how I can help him.

1) What type of bird , age and weight.
    Cochin, Born Feb '09, no clue
    2) What is the behavior, exactly.
    Streches neck out, opens beak and water comes out.
    3) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.
    none at all
    4) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation.
    Nothing I know of. He is happily humping everyone and protecting. Seems fine other wise and shows no sign of parasites
    5) What has the bird been eating and drinking, if at all.
    water and store feed (laying)
    6) How does the poop look? Normal? Bloody? Runny? etc.
    In with others, so I havent seen it
    7) What has been the treatment you have administered so far?
    nothing yet, still new to the chicken world (sorry)
    8 ) What is your intent as far as treatment? For example, do you want to treat completely yourself, or do you need help in stabilizing the bird til you can get to a vet?
    I would love to treat myself , if treatment is needed
    9) If you have a picture of the wound or condition, please post it. It may help.
    10) Describe the housing/bedding in use
    Full cook with a huge run. Bedding is shavings.

Thank you!

Pamela
    panzer@attitude.com

2. chickenzoo

chickenzoo Emu Hugger

Welcome,