10% Gratuity To Take Your Restaurant Food Home????????????

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by kuntrygirl, Nov 6, 2011.

1. kuntrygirl

kuntrygirl Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Feb 20, 2008
    Opelousas, Louisiana
    I was out this weekend with a friend and I wanted to stop at this diner that I have been eyeing for about 3 years. So, my friend said that he would treat me and I was excited. We ordered our food and the food was delicious. I had leftovers on my plate and I wanted to take the leftovers home to feed it to my chickens. Well, much to my surprise, I looked at the menu and the menu read, "10% gratuity included in final bill for all take out orders." I asked the waitress what did that mean (although I already knew). She said that when people call in an order and pick the order up, they charge them 10%. But if the food is eaten inside the diner, the customer is not charge 10%. And if someone wants to take home leftovers in a doggy bag, their ticket is charged 10%. I was like, "HUH - WHY." She just said it was their policy. The only hing that I can think of is that the 10% is possibly paying for the doggy bag "containers" that the food is put in.

Has anyone else heard of this? What are your thoughts?

2. chickened

chickened Overrun With Chickens

Oct 2, 2010
    western Oregon
    I would have left it there or wrapped it in a napkin and put it in my pocket. That is absurd and a bad policy, gratuity is for the waitress, dishwasher, busboys etc. Most likely it is a policy to supplement the owners poor pay.

3. ChickiKat

ChickiKat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2011
    Eastern Kansas
    But gratuities are supposed to go to the server aren't they? Why should the server or the restaurant get more money for me to take their garbage home? I wouldn't go back to that place. Or go back with my own container and pack my whole meal to go home and see what hey say.

4. LizaBlue

LizaBlue Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2010
    Wee Acres