10 month old Sussex - no eggs? normal?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by SkyeSussex, Jan 24, 2015.

1. SkyeSussex

SkyeSussex Out Of The Brooder

Dec 20, 2014
    Hi, i am new to this so be gentle. I have recently got chickens again after many many years without. We always rescued ex battery hens growing up but this time I went with different breeds.

I have 4x 10mo light sussex which were sold to me at 8months POL. I still don't have eggs so i figure I may be doing something wrong.

2. PirocaKeeper

PirocaKeeper Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2014
    Western Massachussetts
    I am not sure about normal as that is such a debatable term. In general breeds take around a certain amount of time that is natural to that breed. For example in my experience white leghorn pullets generally lay around 5-6 months of age, orpingtons on the other hand, never layed for me before at least 8.5 months of age. Black Cooper Marans, purebred, around 7-8 months and all other breeds anywhere in between. My point it depends. My one speckled Sussex just started laying at 9.5 months. See it all depends on when their bodies naturally mature to be able to produce eggs and then if that happens to be in late Fall/Winter, their bodies can pull a trick on you. Some of them will mature slighty faster and start laying a little earlier for their breed and some of them will postpone the start of laying all the way to early spring. You will have clues when they are getting there. They start making different sound, kind of like a laying song, some of them may even squat for you.