11 Chicks, 4 cockerels!?!, Not all the Same Age.....

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by MedSchlFarmers, Jan 28, 2016.

1. MedSchlFarmers

MedSchlFarmers Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 5, 2016
    North Carolina
    Because of city ordinances, we cannot keep roosters.

I'm trying to build my first flock of 5-8 hens.

Thinking I was "lucky" or not thinking at all, I let my 4 year old select 7 chicks from a straight run of EE, Orps, and Silkies from a private breeder. They will be 4 weeks on Sunday. 2 are already clearly cockerels (and I'm new to this) 2 others raise serious suspicions. Leaving 1 Lavender Orp pullet, 1 EE pullet, and 1 Silkie (I have no idea the gender at this point). Because I was fairly certain several were cockerels after a few weeks, I purchased 4 more sexed babies who are 1.5 weeks old (2 Barred Rocks, 1 Choc Leghorn, and 1 Black Sexlink) from a local chicken store. I currently have 11 chicks total.

Currently, I have the 1.5 week olds in one brooder and the 3.5 week olds in another brooder in the same room. They can hear each other but can't see each other. At what point can or should I put the known pullets together? or when should I remove the roosters than I know we are not keeping? Should I put the known cockerels in a 3rd brooder until someone takes them or we eat them (they aren't big enough yet)?

Thanks for your help. I don't know what's best for building my flocks dynamics.

2. AuntNomi

AuntNomi Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2015
    Callahan, Florida!