11 week SLW pullets or Roos

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by elbertchick, Jul 9, 2011.

1. elbertchick

elbertchick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2011
    I have a couple of very pretty chicks but I can't decide for sure if they are pullets or roos. they are 11 weeks old almost 12. No crowing yet and no chest bumping just very colorful. I thought I would ask the experts and thoughts are greatly appreciated!
    No names as of yet just Chickaroo1 and chickaroo2. This is my first try at photos.
    Chick 1
    [​IMG]
    chick1
    [​IMG]
    Chick2
    [​IMG]
    Chick2
    [​IMG]
    Thank you!

Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  2. AccentOnHakes

AccentOnHakes Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 2, 2009
    I'm quite certain that #2 is a roo. Can't see #1's tail too well, but I think I see some saddle feathers coming in...

3. MissD'uccle

MissD'uccle Cluck of My Life

Dec 16, 2009
    Elba Twp, MI
    Looks like girls to me.

4. elbertchick

elbertchick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2011
    That makes me sad as I can't keep roos. the feathers on their saddle area are so side will they get more that are thinner? I know it is hard to tell because of the black and white pattern, some of the feathers have a pinstripe of white and then a wide black surrounding it. [​IMG] I think I will keep a little long since they seem pretty well tempered for now at least till they crow. I have to cochin roos that are in the same group and they bump chest and have very red large waddles and combs, but these to are so mellow.....

Oh yea!!! did some one say girls? more opinions please!!

Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  5. Toshi

Toshi Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2011
    IN corn state