12 week old pullets go back to bed late morning

Giersons

Chirping
May 7, 2022
Good morning everyone,

I am new to raising chicks and my 12 week old Barred Rock hens are cracking me up… they have a automatic chicken coop door that opens at dawn and closes at dusk. The last week they have been coming out of the coop around 7am, eating, and going back in the coop to roost around 8am. They remind me of my teenager who eats and goes back to bed! Is this normal chicken behavior? lol is there any downside to this?

Good morning everyone,

I am new to raising chicks and my 12 week old Barred Rock hens are cracking me up… they have a automatic chicken coop door that opens at dawn and closes at dusk. The last week they have been coming out of the coop around 7am, eating, and going back in the coop to roost around 8am. They remind me of my teenager who eats and goes back to bed! Is this normal chicken behavior? lol is there any downside to this?
Could be normal or at least normal for yours. Do they have perches or other clutter in the run?

I've never heard of this before, but as long as they have full access to the run and no other physical/behavioral problems, I wouldn't worry about it. My girls tend to take naps in the afternoon, usually under a bush or other protected place when they are free ranging.
Ok Yupp they’ll come back out around 10am and resume their day business as usual. Eat, sleep, play repeat. Or in my case sleep, eat, sleep, play, repeat. I have just never had chickens do this and was curious. thank you!

Something else that can make chicken TV better than anything on cable, satellite, or antenna. I don't know that I'd call it normal but I see a lot of behaviors that I might not consider normal. As long as they are acing healthy I would not worry.