14 hour old chick?s

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by LeenaB, Dec 12, 2013.

1. LeenaB

LeenaB Out Of The Brooder

Nov 22, 2013
    This is my first incubation. And my first chick hatched last night just before 5 pm, it's now 7am and it's still not walking around the incubator. It is still breathing, opening it's eyes and closing them, making chirping noises, using it's wings and legs to scoot on its side. I have 8 other eggs in with it- 6 of the others have pipped. Is this normal for a chick?

I got my other chickens as day plus olds in April, so I have no experience with newborn chicks.

Thanks,
    Leena

2. SIMZ

SIMZ Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    Northwest Indiana
    Hi Leena,

Congratulations on your hatch! It's a pretty nerve-wracking experience, isn't it?

Your chick is probably just fine. Hatching is quite an ordeal and the chick needs to rest for a long time afterwards! If you still notice the chick not being active after the others have hatched and are moving around, then you might start to wonder.

Keep us posted & best of luck with the rest of your hatch!

3. LeenaB

Nov 22, 2013
    Thank you Simz. I expected to see the chick this morning climbing over the other eggs and all nice and fluffy. So I got concerned. I'm a horribly nervous first time chick mom. I thought waiting 21 days would be difficult, that was easy compared to this.

4. LeenaB

Nov 22, 2013
    Chick #2 hatched and is completely opposite of #1. So I put them both in the brooder as I set it up yesterday morning. I'm really glad I did. #2 trampled #1, climbed all over the eggs, tried to eat the thermometer. I'm really thinking 9 eggs in a mini brisnea is too many. 7 more to go- 5 of them have already pipped.