15 Buff Orpington Chicks Ordered!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Mother4Jesus, Feb 20, 2013.

1. Mother4Jesus

Mother4Jesus Out Of The Brooder

Jan 1, 2012
    New York
    We are so excited here in my home!! We just ordered 15 BO's. 14 hens and 1 roo. 2 of the hens are going to a friend of mine who has a flock of her own.

The last tme we had chickens, About 2 years ago, we had Red Stars. Those were some great egg laying birds but the roo was nasty and the hens were a bit too aggressive. I have a 4y/o and a 2 y/o who will be helping me.

I wanted a breed that was sweet and friendly, so I went with BO's because I was told they're very friendly, sweet and decent layers. Not as good as my Red stars but about 4-5 a week.

The last time we had chickens, a friend gave them to us , so i'm still a newbie at this.

What do I need to have to be prepared for the chicks??

any suggestions, and links would be appreciated.

2. Jakoda

Jakoda Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2012
    Old Lyme CT
    this site has been invaluable to me regarding anything 'chicken'.

Congrats on your new babies,,Orps are my fav breed right now, very friendly and easy going:)
    Diane

3. 4 the Birds

4 the Birds Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2010
    Westfield, Indiana
    Fun!! We have about a dozen BO's and they are great girls and good layers. We almost get an egg/hen/day year round. We have a 4' x 5' wood enclosure in the garage that we use as the chick brooder. 3 to 4" of pine chips on the floor and a brooder light at the corner and you are good to go. A supply of chick feed and fresh water daily will keep them happy. At 6 or 7 weeks of age we move them to the outside coop area where they have a 40sf sheltered and isolated area from the main flock. This area also has a brooding light to keep warm at nights. After a few weeks they are then ready to join the flock.

4. thasista

thasista Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2011
    KY
    My Coop