15 Indoor Basement Birds

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by ARTofGROWINchix, Mar 11, 2014.

1. ARTofGROWINchix

ARTofGROWINchix Out Of The Brooder

Dec 16, 2012
    Long Island, NY
    Before anyone chimes in about human health or avian respiratory health, let me say that I am an HVAC technician and installer for many years and consider myself a true pro. I love what I do. I love tools. And I love building things.

I purchased 5 Buff Orpingtons, 5 Barred Rock, and 5 Silver Wyandottes from Meyer Hatchery. One Buff Orpington arrived not wanting to eat, not interested in living and we lost her.

The rest I feed Purina non medicated chick starter. I give them mealworms (20 ounces dried for $15.00 at Lowe's) and some of what I call "fancy" seed. Quinoa, white millet, etc.

I also juice daily and they love eating the pulp that comes out of my juicer. And very rarely when my worm numbers get too high in my worm farm, I feed them a handful and they go absolutely nuts.

http://imgur.com/WVkfO6F

You can see the wooden plenum I built hanging about their holding pen. It hold a Merv 8 20"X30"X1" pleated filter. I attached it to a 6" inline blower I had left over from my other endevours so it pulls air through the filer. The blower is rated for 380 CFM which is more than sufficient to circulate the air often enough to catch all the dander and molting feathers.

There they are in their 80 square foot holding pen. I live on Long Island, NY and as soon as it gets a little warmer outside, I'm going to build them an outdoor run and allow them to free range daily.

They are all about 8 weeks right now. They devour food instantly and are growing fast.

http://i.imgur.com/0pHth5q.jpg

Here is a picture of my veggie garden. I have 1600W of MH growing tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, habanero peppers, watermelon, cantaloupe, strawberries, wheatgrass, and other things........

http://i.imgur.com/k8MbJ7k.jpg

Those are the strawberries.