15 of 26 Chicks Dead

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chad the Chicken Man, Aug 6, 2009.

1. Chad the Chicken Man

Chad the Chicken Man Songster

Jul 22, 2009
    Belleville, WI
    Hey guys, I got my baby chicks today and 15 of the 26 were dead, and there are about 4 more that are so weak they cant even hold there heads up, I feed them some wet food and put suger in there water, and even put a drop of honey in there mouth. I got them from Mcmurray Hatchery, and I've herd that there suppose to be the best hatchery around, now I kinda wonder what to expect? This is my first time with chickens and I did alot of research before jumping into it, its just kind of a let down when you get all excited and get home and open the box and 3/4th's of your batch are laying there stiff as a board. I talked to a lady at mcmurray today and she told me to call tomorrow and give her the total amount dead. I guess I will have to see what happens from there.[​IMG]

2. halo

halo Got The Blues

Nov 22, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    They could have easily gotten too hot being shipped this time of the year. McMurray will definitely make it right; however, please don't blame the hatchery. Im sure they were very healthy when they left their hands.

Shipping can be tough on chicks.

3. Chad the Chicken Man

Jul 22, 2009
    Belleville, WI
    Yea I know its not there fault, its just kind of a let down, I was so excited when I herd the chicks peeping at the post office, I couldnt wipe the smile off my face, then 5 mins later at home I open the box and was like you have to be kidding me. It's just so sad...

4. justmeandtheflock

justmeandtheflock Overrun with ducklings :)

May 27, 2009
    NW NJ
    I'm sorry [​IMG] Don't they ship out the chicks on Saturday? Seems like the PO took an awful long time. I got mine from them 7 weeks ago and only lost 1 out of 32.

5. Chad the Chicken Man

Jul 22, 2009
    Belleville, WI