1588 Genesis Pre-set Thermostat - Who's Already Tried One?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rynegold, Mar 17, 2013.

1. rynegold

rynegold Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2011
    So I ordered one of these incubators and was wondering if anyone out there has any tips/solutions for any problems they may have. If any at all.

I've never used an incubator before and am planning on setting eggs this next week when it arrives.

TIA, mitch

2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    I have the old 1588 and I always end up having to tweek the knobs to get the temp correct.

The new one has a digital setup... Wish I had that one.

3. ElitePoultry

ElitePoultry Caviar of Chickens

Oct 11, 2012
    Northern California
    I have the new one.

I just finished my first hatch on saturday in it. I wasnt mad.. 13/20 that went into lockdown. I set 36. Over half were shipped eggs. and one of the boxes of eggs came kind of messed up and i still got 1/5 of those!!

I ordered a Brinsea spot check which should be here tomorrow. I have 2 thermometers i dont trust, I was getting some temp variations. So I do recommend getting one. But ive talked with all year hatchers who use nothing else other than these 1588 incubators so they have to be pretty reliable.

Good luck with yours. If I have any tips or tricks I pick up along the way Ill be sure to post them here....

This could turn into the Genesis Hovabator 1588 Official Thread [​IMG]

4. 12321

12321 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2012
    We just got the new 1588 last month. We're on day 8 of our first hatch.
    One tip for the turner - leave the spot by the motor empty. I put a fairly large egg beside the motor and found it pinned in there pretty hard when it tilted that direction. I don't know if it was at it's full range of motion yet, but the egg didn't break and the turner still turns. We had one egg place left open, so just moved it there.