16 day old babies

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by sjmarshall87, Apr 27, 2011.

1. sjmarshall87

sjmarshall87 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2011
    Carthage
    My husband and I have taken on the adventerous task of raising baby chicks with our 2 year old. The chicks are about 16 days now. We are working on the construction of their future home. Our property has a metal storage shed with sliding doors that we want to convert into a coop. With it being metal it obviously doesnt have any insulation. Living in "the Sandhills" North Carolina should I make adjustments to this builing? My husbands only plans were to add a window opposite the doors for a cross breeze, build nesting/roosting stations, and fence in a large area around the building. Should we be doing more to protect the birds from the heat and cold?

Last edited: Apr 27, 2011
  2. maclady

maclady Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 28, 2011
    Lost in Space
    [​IMG] I am new to chickens also. Mine are 10 wks today. Is there any shade trees near this building or is it in direct sunlight? A metal building is going cook during our summers. Ventilation is going to be an issue in direct sunlight. I do not remember the member name but someone on here has a huge page on ventilation and it is a good one. Try a search to find it. I am sure others will also answer your question. Good Luck with your chickens. [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 27, 2011
  3. maclady

maclady Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 28, 2011
    Lost in Space
    Ok I did the search for the ventilation page. It is from patandchickens. I don't know how to link you to the page though. If you find patandchickens go to their BYC page and you can get to the ventilation section there. Hope this helps somewhat.

4. sjmarshall87

Apr 27, 2011
    Carthage