19 days and I have a pip...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by comptonsgonecountry, Sep 25, 2011.

1. comptonsgonecountry

comptonsgonecountry Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2011
    While checking on temp and the water basin, I happened to hear chirping and took a closer look at the eggs. Lo and behold, there was a pip in one and two others are wiggling around in their eggs. I have heard that a pip before 21 days is not good. Is this true?

This is my first hatch so I have no idea on what to really expect.

2. happyhour4pm

happyhour4pm Out Of The Brooder

Aug 14, 2011
    citrus county Florida
    I am also in the same boat. Today is day 19, they went into lockdown yesterday. I have kept good temps and humidity through out. Lucky I guess as I am a newbie using a used hova bator with a turner. I filled the 2nd water tray to get the humidity up and it wants to stay around 70.
    Anyway the smallest of the eggs was the first on to have a pip about 24 after lockdown. I looked a bit later and no change still just a small pip. About an hour after checking The whole house hears a baby bird chirping loudly!!. We all run out to the other room ( including 4 dogs) to see whats up. Well the littlest one was out of the shell crawling across the bottom.....
    What did you read about a pip at day 19 is not good.[​IMG]..... Please share what you read.
    I was hoping it was all going great. I will keep you posted. The little thing is STILL chirping out there I had better go look.
    Good luck, Amy

3. nurse_turtle

nurse_turtle Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2011
    Foothills of NC
    On day 19 you should be in lockdown. Be careful not to open the bator.

4. happyhour4pm

Aug 14, 2011
    citrus county Florida
    I just went to see how he was doing and what he is still fusing about. He has all the other eggs all disrupted and rolled about.