1st new baby chick! Need advice?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by joelmartin357, Jan 9, 2010.

1. joelmartin357

joelmartin357 New Egg

Jan 9, 2010
    I am new to the coop. I started with chicks this last spring. A month ago I had one hen striving her hardest to brood. So I decided to let her sit. Well she has collected eggs over the past four weeks. I finally marked the eggs a week or so ago, so I could start pulling the newest ones out to prevent from getting to many, and pulling the wrong ones.
    Well I went out this morning to let the chickens out I found a broken egg shell. didn't think nothing of it. I have had broken eggs before. Then tonight I went out to close up the pen and collect the last of the eggs and then there it was. "Chirp, chirp, chirp" I picked up momma and there was our first baby chic. I'm a new dad! Kinda
    Anyways. I am clueless! Do I leave her with mom? Raise her under a heat lamp like the first ones? If I leave her with mom, do I put a separate feeders in the laying box? do I have to separate them from the flock? It is in the 20's outside at night, do I need additional lamps out there? and many more questions? Any advice would be appreciated. Also concerned about unhatched eggs?Thanks. Joel

2. The Sheriff

The Sheriff Overrun With Chickens

Jun 17, 2009
    Northern CA
    This is what I would do. Use your own judgement:

1.) leave it with Mom

2.) It sounds like you already have heat out in the coop. Is it near the broody?

3.) I would separate her and the chick and eggs from the rest of the flock tomorrow. You are probably fine for tonight.

4.) A time will come when she will abandon the remaining eggs to care for the new chicks. You should have an incubator available and ready to put them in or you will lose them. Did you write the dates on them so you know when they are due to hatch?

Mary

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2010
  3. joelmartin357

joelmartin357 New Egg

Jan 9, 2010