1st time broody hen

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by CatMedos, Mar 24, 2017.

1. CatMedos

CatMedos New Egg

Mar 23, 2017
    Amissville VA
    Hi guys I'm new to BYC.com. I have been raising chickens for only a year and my daughters red cochin bantam has decided she wants to be a momma and is now broody. She has stopped laying eggs and has decided to sit on the other girls eggs and "steals" more daily. I have marked 3 eggs for her to keep and try to hatch out. My question is would it not be wise to introduce 2 new hens to my group? The 2 have been in a temporary run right next to my guys for about a week.I don't want to upset the bantam and have her abandon her nest.

2. KingOfTheCoop02

KingOfTheCoop02 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 7, 2017
    Ireland
    I think broodies should be put in their own space... so perhaps you could swap her with the new hens? Of course, this can only be done if the side-pen is safe, vermin-proof, quiet, dark and cosy. Good luck!

3. N F C

N F C doo be doo be doo Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]

KingOfTheCoop02 has made a good suggestion, hope it helps!

4. CatMedos

CatMedos New Egg

Mar 23, 2017
    Amissville VA
    I tried to use my husband's high powered flashlight to see if anything was going on inside those eggs and I don't think they are viable. She has been on them about 1 week.

5. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas and [​IMG]! Pleased you joined our flock! I am a hatching novice so I'm afraid I won't be much help. But I wish you well and thank you for joining BYC!!

6. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator