1st time HATCHING ever!! But 1 day EARLY?!?! **PICTURES**

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by ChaddiX, Jan 25, 2012.

1. ChaddiX

ChaddiX Out Of The Brooder

Hello All,

I'm a new dad - it's my first time incubating anything!! I woke up to TWO CHICKS bouncing all over the place and one PiPin' n Zippin'. HOWEVER, they are MORE THAN 24hrs EARLY. Any insight on sides effects (etc) on premature hatches? And any reason for such an early hatch?

Here are the variables:

Silkie/S(s)izzle Bantam Eggs

Jan 05, 2012 - into the incubator after 9 days of suspended animation
    10% humidity for first 10 days
    25-35% humidity on day10 - day18

Jan 23 - lockdown on day 18 (evening time)
    75% - humidity

Jan 25 (8AM)- two chicks completely out of the shell and walking (crawling all over the place), and one PiP

I guess they go into the broader after 48hrs of hatching? Dip the beaks in water; then Gro-Gel Plus (ordered from Murray McMurray); then Turkey Starter Crumble...

Thanks in advance for all your insights and comments!

-CHAD

REF: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...ow-low-is-too-low-10-humidity/20#post_8297736

[​IMG]
    (ABOVE): The chick OUT of the carton and all the way to the right hatched from the egg all the way to the LEFT.
    The chick in the carton hatched from it's current location

(BELOW): They appear lively and are jumping in and out of the egg carton (tipping over Hygrometers and everything!) Hope they don't get too exhausted. So 48hrs in here then they go to the brooder with real food and water?
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    (ABOVE): A third egg has PiPed. Or is this called a Zip?
    since they all went in together, I hope they all hatch together. 3 of 6 so far!

Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  2. really if you want too take them out when they dry off that way they wont hurt eany off the chicks that are trying to hatch.Oh and what incubator is it the hovabator genisis?

Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  3. ChaddiX