1st Time processing chickens

rbruno

Chirping
May 6, 2015
I had my first set of chickens processed last week. I had 4 layers that were about three years old and their egg production was just about done. So, I thought I would go ahead a process them and get new layers. I separated one into pieces and tried to fry it. The meat was to tough to bite through. I was shocked how tough the meat was. There wasn't much meat on the bones which I wasn't completely surprised about because these were layers and not meat production chickens. But I was surprised about the toughness of the meat and the skin was like leather. Because I have never done this before, is this because of the breed of my chickens or because of there age? I am sure the other 3 that are in the freezer will be the same way. I figured the only use for them will be to make chicken stock. Do others have the same situation with the meet be tough on the layers?
Rob

It was tough because of the age. For my older birds they are cooked low and slow in the slow cooker, then the meat is usually removed from the carcass and cut into smaller bite size pieces and used like that. They have an excellent flavor to them though, way better than anything you could ever buy in a store. Did you let the carcasses rest before freezing them?

I have no processed any of my birds before but did you let them rest? I've also heard to expect to only use them in in the crockpot/pressure cooker. If you want super tender meat then you need to use young birds.

Your cooking method is the problem. Anything older than 15 weeks needs to be cooked more gently. Slow cooking is the best for an old hen. The bird also needs to be rested for a few days before cooking, either before freezing or after. Just let it sit in the fridge for a few days to relax.....rigor mortis needs to be gone. Better luck with the others.