2 babies. 6 eggs. Not due til the 8th. What about the 4 other eggs?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Staceybullock, Aug 5, 2014.

1. Staceybullock

Staceybullock Out Of The Brooder

I am a first time hatcher with a first time brooder in central tx. I thought we were due to hatch on the 8th (this Friday) but two chicks hatched last Sunday! I had to leave them from Sunday morning until today (Tuesday)- when I got here I found mama had to move to the ground (near food and water) and I guess couldn't figure out the ramp...so 4 eggs sat in the Texas heat from whenever she left them (Sunday night? Monday morning?) until now. I candled the 4 eggs, and since it's my first time, know that something had been developing but can't tell if it still is or not. All I can see is about 85% dark! with an air pocket at the end. I put the eggs on the ground under broody, and she tucked them in, but I don't know what I should do...let her try until the 8th, or just be glad for the 2 that hatched?:barnie

2. Jedwards

Jedwards Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 5, 2014
    Berks County, PA
    If she's still sitting on them you can give it a try and hope for the best but if she hasn't been sitting on them for two days the chicks inside the egg could have died but you never know. It's definitely worth a shot!

3. Staceybullock

Ok. I saw a video on YouTube about candling with water - I did it and got wiggles out of all four! :celebrate

Momma moved though! She was trying to move eggs to other side of hen house for some reason - 1 made it, and three others were in line across the floor. I moved them all, water candled them all, then gave them back to her. I hope she settles on them again! It will kill me to know they made it this far! If I had a bator I'd scoop them up for these last few days....any ideas? Homemade bator? Or just leave them with her(my preference if I get a good outcome either way)???:/

4. Staceybullock

:celebrate