2 Broody Hens and 26 eggs!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Grumpy1, May 30, 2008.

1. Grumpy1

Grumpy1 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 12, 2008
    North Georgia
    I have 8 Ameraucauna Hens and 1 rooster, and I have 2 hens that went broody at the same time. They are in nest boxes that are about 42" off the ground. I have been putting the other hens' eggs in front of them and they have been tucking them into their own. I did not realize how many, but it turns out there are 13 eggs under each hen! I found out when they both got up to eat, drink and stretch out. I have a few questions:
    1. How many eggs can they sit on?
    2. They are spaced out a few days, will the hens hatch them all out?
    3. What do I need to do? Will nature take care of them?
    4. How and when will the chicks that hatch get down from the nest boxes?
    5. Will the Hen protect her chicks from the other hens and rooster, or should I separate them?

Sorry for all the questions, I am new at this.

2. Chickemee

Chickemee Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2007
    Texas
    1.I think they can sit on as many eggs that fit under them.
    2.I'm not sure.
    3.Yes all you need is chick starter.
    4.They would probibly jump out when there dry and stronger.
    5.I would seperate them to take extra percautions.

You shouldn't be sorry about questions cause there are still a lot I need to ask too. [​IMG]

3. dacjohns

dacjohns People Cracker Upper

When you are sure they are actually broody I would separate them from the rest of the flock and get the nest down to ground level. 42" is a long drop for the chicks and they won't be able to get back in the nest. When/if you do move the hens and eggs I would do it at night when they are calmer.

The eggs will probably hatch at or about the same time but be patient, there may be some late hatchers.

I would think 13 eggs is enough.