1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

2 chickens dead in similar circumstances in 2 months. Advice would be appreciated.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by norwichred, Nov 18, 2014.

1. norwichred

norwichred Out Of The Brooder

Oct 13, 2012
    I'm a newbie to chicken owning. I got my first chickens about two and a half years ago, point of lay Bantams. They did really really well, very happy, and laying every day. I built them a special area at the bottom of the garden, and gave them regular run around the garden.

Their egg laying slowed down and I didn't want to cull them. So I inteoduced two new hens. Was relatively painless and after a few weeks of introducing all four were laying happily.

Then, suddenly one of the new hens, I found in the corner of the run, head down on the ground, as if she'd just fallen forward and she wasn't moving. She was still alive - I picked her up and I couldn't believe her weight. There was literally nothing to her, almost as if she had no insides. Was horrible. I put her down on the grass and she just pitched forward again. She was barely breathing so I culled her as it seemed the kindest thing to do. Her cone had never gone up in the time I had her, although the other hen I got at the same time the cone was fine.

Other chickens seemed to be fine and all continued well, although my old timers were only laying one every two or three days and the new hen laying two every three so egg production way down.

About three weeks ago I inteoduced another two point of lay bantams into the flock. Again went pretty well, although they're not fully integrated yet.