2 day incubating egg with a crack

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bhaugh, Oct 9, 2013.

1. bhaugh

bhaugh Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2013
    Las Vegas, NV
    Hi,

Newbie here with first hatch. My eggs have been in the bator now for two days. I was looking the eggs over this morning and noticed that one of the eggs has a very slight crack in the shell. Should I remove the egg or let it go?

Also I have a hovabator forced air and cannot seem to keep it at the recommended 20% humidity Ive read. If I put a sponge in, will it cause too much of a spike in the humidity? I decided to just put in some tj eggs as my first try so I could see what was going on and make corrections before I got eggs shipped to me. A trial run if you will. I ran the bator for a day or so before putting the eggs in and I was able to keep the humidity constant but I knew the only way to perfect things a bit was to add eggs. The constant humidity is now 16.5%.

Barb

2. Cheyen

Cheyen Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 21, 2013
    Richmond, VA
    Everyone seems to have different opinions on how to incubate eggs, so you'll probably get some different answers. If I were you, I'd take the cracked egg out immediately just to be safe. However, if you're curious to see what might happen, you can leave it in until it's time to candle. If nothing has happened by then, toss it.

As for humidity... I usually keep mine around 45%-50% in a still air incubator. I have never used forced air, so I'm not sure how that would affect the eggs. If you want to keep your eggs at a steady 20%, I wouldn't worry too much about it being a bit higher or lower than what's ideal. If I'm gone for a while (like if I'm at school or something), I put a damp paper towel in the incubator, and it usually keeps the humidity ideal for a good five hours or so.

I tend to get a pretty decent 65%-75% hatch rate by doing this, although I'm still learning too! Good luck!

3. dvoice

dvoice Chillin' With My Peeps