2 days after hatching day. First hatching. No chirping for wobbling. What should I do?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by pipchick1, Jul 29, 2014.

1. pipchick1

pipchick1 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 28, 2014
    I am using an little giant forced air incubator. I didn't try to incubate the eggs with my hens because, they've never layed on their eggs and incubated them before. So I started out easy. This is my first time hatching. I know I made a few mistakes. I didn't know that the little giant incubator would turn the eggs for me. So I turned the eggs then I realized that the incubator did it for me. And I candled the eggs later than usual. I started candling them on day 20 . I was really upset about what I was doing. And somebody told me that doing the water test on day 20 was way too early. My temp would spike up and down. The temp when it would go up was about 120 degrees! I was soo sad. When I would see the temp in there and it said 120 I would quickly change it. When the temp spiked down. It would probably go to 90 degrees. And I didn't know what the humidity was! Me and my parents went to go and get a new thermometer. It showed the temp and the humidity. I looked up some info and it said the humidity should be between 60-65 and it was at 30! So I put some water in and it settled down to 62. I was really glad. On the 21 day I could see them wobbling just a little bit. And I thought I heard a little chirp, but I wasn't sure. But today is the 23 day and they haven't hatched yet! I would balance the egg in my hand. It would feel really heavy. And I think I could see the outlining of the feathers in the shell! I was excited! Any advice about what I should see?[​IMG]

2. gander007

gander007 Chicken Obsessed

[​IMG] great to have you here [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    I bought this incubator in 1997 and have been using it ever since .....

[​IMG]
    This is the inside of the incubator ..........

Do you have any pictures of your incubator ?????????