2 died...normal?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by thecityman, Aug 18, 2010.

1. thecityman

thecityman Out Of The Brooder

Jun 14, 2010
    Hi. I'm fairly new to quail and certainly have never hatched out as many as I did this time....I just had 42 born on Monday! I only had 48 cortunix eggs, so 42 births was an astounding success rate to me. Anyway, when I got up this morning there were 2 that were dead. I have them in a brooder box with a bulb for heat, though they have plenty of room to go to the other end of the box if they get to warm. One of the dead ones was abou12 inches from the bulb. The other one was literally laying in the water dispenser, though its head wasn't in the water. I feel confident it didn't drown, because I have one of those really small mason jar water dispensers and the part where the water is never gets more than like 1/10th of an inch..barely enough for them to drink from.

Anyway, my main question is this: Is it fairly normal to loose a few quail soon after birth? 2 out of 42 doesnt seem that bad to me. On the other hand, I've never lost a chick before, so I'm just curious. If you all don't think its fairly normal to loose a couple chicks out of 42, then do you have any ideas? I have no other quail right not, so diseases seems unlikely. I'm just afraid this is going to continue! Thanks.

2. jessaw1981

jessaw1981 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2010
    Franklin Nc
    yea I think that it is pretty normal. Just make sure they can get out if the heat. My father was sure they could but they needed more room. Now they are fine.

3. Denninmi

Denninmi Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2009
    Yes, I think it's fairly normal for it to happen. I would just double check the waterer -- I fill mine with small marbles, so that they have to drink between the gaps. It's a pain because I have to top it off every other hour, and then clean it out twice a day, but they can drown in an amazingly small depth of water.