2 genetics questions!

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Fourgirlsoneboy, Jul 13, 2010.

1. Fourgirlsoneboy

Fourgirlsoneboy Pullus Parvus

Aug 16, 2009
    West Virginia
    I have a nice Copper Maran roo and a blue (all the way) hen. Anyone know what I would end up pairing up those 2? Also, I have a pen of bantam cochins- a splash roo over one black, several blues, and one girl appears lavender. We always end up with some (what appears) lavender chicks- does this mean the roo has a recessive gene for that (almost all of the other chicks are blue or splash- we haven't had a black yet)? Thanks all- I'm just beginning to learn about chicken genetics!

2. Fourgirlsoneboy

Aug 16, 2009
    West Virginia
    [​IMG] here's our most recent hatch- they are 2-3 weeks old (the babysitters are a standard cochin/sumatra mix)

3. Goose and Fig

Goose and Fig Grateful Geese

Apr 19, 2009
    Fall Creek Falls TN
    I'm not sure about the marans- have to check the calculator.

As for the cochins- you're probably getting all blue chicks, maybe some splashes. I don't think a splash could ever be split for lav because splash is basically 2 blue genes, as opposed to a black/ split that has one black and one lav.

I have a splash (LF) cochin roo over blue & black hens, and some various other colors. All my babies are either blue or splash (the splash can only come from my blue hens)

4. Fourgirlsoneboy

Aug 16, 2009
    West Virginia
    Quote:Yes, I thought it was something like that (I'm just totally lost,lol!). I know 2 of those lighter looking ones are splash- so are the the others really light blue?
    I thought it was funny a lady bought the two I brought to chickenstock first off (way before it supposedly started [​IMG] ). That started me wondering (I just advertised them as bbs)! Thanks for the info!

5. Sonoran Silkies

Sonoran Silkies Flock Mistress

Jan 4, 2009
    Tempe, Arizona