2 hens and rooster on nest- 1 baby kicked out-help!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by tndrees, Jun 14, 2008.

1. tndrees

tndrees Out Of The Brooder

Jun 5, 2008
    Sidney, Ohio
    Hi, this is my first time with broody hens. I have 3 Japenese Black Tail, 2 hens and one rooster. One hen started laying on the eggs then about a week later the other one did, also. The rooster squeezes in with them too, about half the time. I have a shelf outside the nest box, and I just found a baby chick laying there. All 3 chickens were in the nest. It is alive but not sure if it will make it. I took it inside and put it under heat lamp. Now I don't know what to do. Should I separate the rooster? We were just getting ready to go away, but now I'm scared to leave!

2. HorseFeathers

HorseFeathers Frazzled

Apr 2, 2008
    Southern Maine
    Why on earth is the roo in the nest? He must have SERIOUS mental issues!!! I would seperate him if I were you. Make sure you pay VERY CLOSE attention to the chick (I'm sure I don't need to tell you this). Do you have someone else so you could watch the grown-ups and the baby at the ame time? Wish I could help more; maybe someone else on here knows what to do. [​IMG]!

3. Farmer Kitty

Farmer Kitty Flock Mistress

Sep 18, 2007
    Wisconsin
    I've never had a broody but, I would separate the rooster out. Then if you can separate one hen into a nest with some of the eggs and leave the other in that nest with the rest of the eggs. Keep the little one you have in a brooder until you see what the hens are going to do. If they settle and are going to raise anymore that are going to hatch you could slip that one back under at night.

4. tndrees

Jun 5, 2008
    Sidney, Ohio