2 mo. old geese questions

Discussion in 'Geese' started by [email protected], May 31, 2010.

1. jennifer@couplandtx.org

[email protected] Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2010
    Coupland, TX
    So, what does it mean when they shake their necks really fast, like shivering but they are not cold? How old are they when they are full grown? How do you stop them from biting/nibbling (I don't want it to progress)? If they are going to become aggressive, are there signs? and at what age does this start? Is there any way to get them to live at the pond instead of at my house? They won't even walk down to the pond unless I take them. This is my first time for geese and I love ya'll's expertise. Thank you!! jennifer

2. jojo@rolling acres farm

[email protected] acres farm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2009
    Nebraska
    Good Morning,

I know what you're talking about with the neck shivering, I'm just not sure what the display means. We'll have to wait for someone else to come along and tell us. I'm not sure you're going to get them to "stay" at the pond. They would prefer to be with there fearless leader...which means you. [​IMG]! Mine don't nibble on me they are less bonded. So I can't comment on the nibble question. You'll know when their getting agressive...I just don't think yours will unless they are nesting. They'll nest next year. Feb/March is when mine seem to start.

Enjoy your holiday.

Joni

3. blissdragon

blissdragon Out Of The Brooder

Apr 5, 2010
    Eugene
    Mine usually do that when they have food stuck in their throat (or something having to do with eating). One of my ganders does this more often than the others and he sometimes lets out a loud squeak when he does it.

At least, that is what I've interpreted its been about.

4. blissdragon

blissdragon Out Of The Brooder

Apr 5, 2010
    Eugene