2 month old chicks with family problems?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by woodsman, Jul 16, 2010.

1. woodsman

woodsman Out Of The Brooder

Jun 14, 2010
    saugerties, ny
    Yikes, I'm new to this chicken thing. On May 21 this sweet little hen started leading around 6 of her chicks. She was given to me by my neighbor who has many free range chickens living on his property. I asked him for a hen cause this rooster, I was sure came from him, showed up one day and hung out for days. I started feeding him and then her. They were enjoying the good life. She has been hanging out nights in one tree with the kids, and he is in a neighboring tree. I feed them 2 - 3 times a day and make sure they have water. They have a few acres to roam and seem quite happy with the set up.
    Well, that was until today. Today I went out and one(1) chick was hanging out under my deck. No other chickens within sound or sight. Crazy as they never were separated from mom before. Now tis chick looked abused to me. Neck feathers screwed up and a dazed look on his/her face. Eventually the others came back, but he/she was getting the cold treatment. Then I noticed that one of the other chicks that looks like this one(they are all really beautiful) seemed to be having a similar plight, but not quite to the same degree. Can somebody with chicken knowledge help me out? Not sure what to do, if anything....[​IMG] Thanks, ralph

2. Keri78

Keri78 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 17, 2009
    NJ