2 quick hatching questions!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Vinchinzo, Oct 22, 2014.

1. Vinchinzo

Vinchinzo Out Of The Brooder

Sep 10, 2014
    Lake city, fl
    I have one chick unzipping right now on day 20 in the incubator. My other 30 show no signs of piping either internally or externally. Question 1. With such a large number of incubated eggs is it at all strange for only 1 to be so far ahead of the others? 2. If and when this first chick fully hatches is it safe to quickly remove her from the incubator and put in the brooder, before the others hatch? ....I've read they can stay in the incubator for three days, I'm just worried about her starving... among other things...please help.

2. hennible

hennible Overrun With Chickens

I'm no expert but I think you will cause a critical temp/humidity drop if you open the incubator. The chick shouldn't stave it has the yoke to feed on for a bit... Wishing luck and patients to you...

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    No it is not that unusual. A couple of hatches back I had one totally hatched more than 24 hours before any others even started pipping. I hatched 17 total that hatch. I've also had hatches where all the chicks were out before the 21 days were up.

Is it safe to remove the first one? What a question! If you drive to the grocery store you might have an accident. Do you consider it safe to drive to the grocery store? Safe can be a nebulous term.