2 Week Old Black Copper Maran Chick Strange Respiratory Sounds, Need Advice!

DuckyLou

In the Brooder
7 Years
Mar 29, 2012
East Texas
Hello,

I'm new here and new to raising chicks. I had them when I was a kid, but have just now started back to keeping chickens, So lets just say I'm new to it! :)
I need some help with a problem I am having with a 2 week old French Black Copper Maran chick. Yesterday I found it laying down alone breathing very heavy. Also making some nasally crackling sounds along with coughing and sneezing?? I separated it from the others, put it in a tote with paper towels as the bottom and put food, water and a light. It seemed lethargic. But it started to move around and eat and drink. I didn't think it would make it through the night, but it did! And on top of that it seems better. Still making some of the sounds but is definitely better. Eating, drinking, and poo looks normal, not runny.
I have looked up the symptoms but have gotten very confused by all the different information! And I really stink at searching on the Internet :/

I have had it in with 8 other chicks. 2 other Marans, 4 production reds, 2 silkies.
They are in a very large plastic water trough with pine shaving as the bottom, and I clean it twice a day. I have them on
non-medicated chick starter, and clean their water at least twice a day.

I'm not sure where to go from here, should I put it on antibiotics? I read something about Gape worms,?? I also read that it could have eaten pine shavings and its stuck in its croup?? Respiratory infection??

Please help! Thanks!

Here, I'll try and find something.
Alright, I've been reading in my book, and so you're saying it's just making sounds when breathing? I'm no expert, but maybe you'd like to try to give it antibiotics. Goodluck!

Thanks for your reply!