2 week old chic not acting right.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by rhino1, Mar 4, 2015.

1. rhino1

rhino1 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 28, 2015
    around Savannah, GA
    I came home tonight after work and one of my baby chicks is acting strange. When I left for work this morning I changed their water and filled their food and everything seemed normal. Tonight one doesn't act like it has much energy to get up and around. She will walk, but will not hold herself up right and she seems fluffed and sloppy if that makes sense. This is my first time raising chickens, go figure. I don't want to waste anytime if there is something I should know. I have done everything I was advised when I bought them, now I feel like I am punishing her because I don't know enough, please help

2. rhino1

Feb 28, 2015
    around Savannah, GA
    [​IMG]

3. rhino1

Feb 28, 2015
    around Savannah, GA
    That's her, see how she's not holding her wings up and she just stands there unless she is laying down. She's also breathing heavy. You can watch wings and back move when she breathes. Should I separate her from the rest or just watch her? Somebody told me it wasn't good to pull one and leave it by itself when they were young, said that it wouldn't do good away from the group. But again, I'm new at this. I'm going to call our vet we use for our dogs when they open at 7

Last edited: Mar 5, 2015
  4. rhino1

Feb 28, 2015
    around Savannah, GA
    [​IMG]

5. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

Are your temperatures good? 90-95 the first week of life and decrease by 5 degrees per week until fully feathered usually at 6 weeks, and room to get away from the heat.

I would try dipping her beak in the water every hour (see sugar water recipe link below). Don't separate unless she is getting pecked/bullied as it will be harder on her to reintegrate if there is no bullying going on.