2 week old chick, still alive after dog attack.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by okhippie, Jun 28, 2011.

1. okhippie

okhippie Out Of The Brooder

Jun 28, 2011
    Keystone Dam
    We had three 2 week old chicks. Only one is breathing. I found one other intact, but dead, and the 3rd is missing, presumably in the dog's stomach.

With the breathing chick, I have kept her warm for a couple hours, she opens her eyes and will drink a bit of water, but mostly sleeps. I am new to chickens (OBVIOUSLY), so do chicks ever recover from being used as a toy by a dog?
    I can't find any major damage, although I imagine she got chomped on. I will just keep her warm and watered as long as she seems able.
    So frustrating. That's the learning curve, I guess.

Thanks, Jammie (pronounced Jamie)

2. KDailey

KDailey Crazy Cochin Lady

Jun 27, 2011
    Bronson, Tx
    aww i'm so sorry bout your little chickies! I just lost one right now. My favorite one at that, a little black silkie [​IMG]

3. allieloveschickens

allieloveschickens Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2010
    San Diego
    so sad! I'm sorry your chicks got attacked, how did the dog get them? You are doing the right things, keep her warm and dry, and maybe try a bit of water mixed with gatorade if she will take it. She likely has internal injuries, but hopefully she will pull through, good luck! [​IMG]

4. okhippie

Jun 28, 2011
    Keystone Dam
    Well, some good news, I went back out to try once again to find the missing one, I just didn't want my kids to come across her, so I was looking for flies or ants...then I heard chirping under the water hose. She is not hurt too badly, and is now snuggled in with the badly injured chick.

We got 2 bantams back in April, then ordered these 3 chicks to make our small flock. We got the leghorn--the one that is barely hanging on, an Easter Egger-the one I just found alive and somewhat injured, and an Australorp, the one that died.