20 Pekin eggs into bator at noon yesterday...any tips?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by PlumTuckered, Sep 5, 2009.

1. PlumTuckered

PlumTuckered Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2007
    Arkansas
    When is the best time to start candling? I've seen "misting" the eggs mentioned...when do I start and how often?
    I appreciate any tips you can give me. I've hatched a gazillion chicken eggs but this is my first time working with duck eggs.

Michelle

2. Duck Keeper

Duck Keeper Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2009
    Out in the Boonies
    I've always read that if you mist the eggs, the protective wax coating gets worn off, making the eggs lose moisture faster.

And I've also read that you should candle on the seventh and fourteenth day, but I candle all throughout, probably daily. xD

I like to see 'em swimming around!

3. momma's chickens

momma's chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2008
    Idaho
    Hi, I have never misted my duck eggs and they hatch fine. I also candle probably way too much but they hatch anyway.

Good luck with your hatching!

4. PlumTuckered

Jun 27, 2007
    Arkansas
    Thank ya Ladies!!

Am I right in having just the center well filled with water like I do with the chicken eggs or should I have the outer well filled as well? With chickens you don't fill the outer well until near the hatch date. Pekin eggs take 28 days, right? I'm going to be a nervous wreck all month ;-)

Michelle

5. Duck Keeper

Mar 18, 2009
    Out in the Boonies
    A REALLY good investment is a cheap thermometer/hydrometer combo from Walmart or another similar store. You can then gauge the relative humidity in your particular incubator, just be sure not to get it wet, or the humidity readings will be out of whack. Trust me, I've been there. [​IMG]

Ducks need a lot more humidity than chickens, so I would definitely fill all of the wells until I could find a humidity gauge. You can get one for reptiles at a pet shop too if you aren't able to find one elsewhere.