2013 chickens

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by cws451, Mar 25, 2013.

1. cws451

cws451 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 18, 2013
    East Tennessee
    hello everybody i am new to backyard chicken and to raising chickens as well :)...My purpose for raising them are meat and egg. I have 4 BSL and 1 RIR with plans to get more. The reason why i chose those birds because i read they were dual purpose birds and i can use them for meat and have a decent weighing bird. im willing to raise cornish x but i would like to have chickens that can reproduce If someone more experienced could weigh in on my situation and maybe give some examples of good meat chicks that would be great.

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    :frow Welcome to the forum! :weee Glad you joined us! :frow

Basically any of the dual purpose breeds will work for you. Certain breeds like New Hampshire or Delaware were developed specifically for meat, but since the development of the Cornish X the characteristics that made then good meat birds have pretty much been lost. Some of those characteristics were rapid weight gain and conformation so you got the cuts of meat you wanted.

If you plan to pluck them, it’s probably a decent idea to get a light-colored bird. When you pluck, you always leave behind some pin feathers. They are not that noticeable on a white or buff colored bird but really stand out on a dark red or black bird. They won’t hurt you but you just get a prettier carcass with a light colored bird. If you skin them, it doesn’t really matter.

What I suggest is that you look through the Henderson Breed Chart to look for the characteristics you want, them go to Feathersite to get pictures of what they look like.

Henderson’s Breed Chart
    http://www.ithaca.edu/staff/jhenderson/chooks/chooks.html

Feathersite
    http://www.feathersite.com/Poultry/BRKPoultryPage.html

3. wyoDreamer

wyoDreamer Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2010