21 days from what point?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CityGirlintheCountry, Dec 3, 2008.

1. CityGirlintheCountry

CityGirlintheCountry Green Eggs and Hamlet

Jul 7, 2007
    Middle TN
    So my silkie went broody. Sigh. I gave up and put eggs under her. Because A) I'm new at this, B) I wasn't prepared for a broody, and C) Clearly I'm an idiot, I put eggs under her on three days running. On day one I put five eggs under her (that had been laid over the two days before. They came from the stash inside the house.). On day two I put a single freshly laid egg and on day three I did the same. For some reason the second my hen went broody, they all quit laying as a show of support. [​IMG]

I know if you set them in an incubator they hatch on day 21 and you count from the day they were put in the incubator. How do you count the ones a hen is sitting on? Is it 21 days from the point the hen starting sitting or is it 21 days from the point they were laid? Will they hatch out over three days? Will the hen keep sitting even if some have already hatched?
    [​IMG] The silkies are going to make me crazy!!!

2. Akane

Akane Overrun With Chickens

Jun 15, 2008