21 Days of Anxiety Leads to Building My Own Incubator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Eggsakly, Mar 24, 2017.

1. Eggsakly

Eggsakly Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2015
    I am 5 hours away from the end of the 21st day of my first hatch, or non-hatch as the case may be, and there is not a single pip. This may change. My temps may have been low. They may have been too low. I attempted to use an old Hovabator still-air incubator, and I can now see how people who are knowledgeable and skilled can work with the still-air styrobators, but I'm afraid the learning curve for a complete novice like myself, especially with this particular incubator, was more intense than I would have liked.

For one thing, when measuring the temperature at the top of the eggs, the fluctuation was about 3 degrees Fahrenheit. So, is the 101 at the "top of the egg" the maximum temperature reading, or the average? In other words, should the 3-degree fluctuation range between 98 and 101 (maximum), or should it range between 99.5 and 102.5 (for a 101 average)? Should bantam eggs have a different/lower temperature? It seems that they would. I only found one source of information that addressed these questions, and the answers were different than what I found everywhere else.

In the mean time, as I wait for my eggs to do or die, I have begun gathering items for a homemade incubator. I have ordered a digital thermostat ($17 including shipping) that is due to arrive on Monday, and acquired a CPU fan ($10), and 2 porcelain light sockets (<$3 each). Now I must decide on my form for the incubator. Styrofoam and plastic coolers are cheap and readily available. I have an old plastic cooler I could use on hand, but I admit I really really like the Jenki Bator design here on BYC. https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/the-jenki-bator-wbjdmds-chicken-incubator Awesome, I think! It looks like a refurbished old-fashioned bread box.