22 week old domestic turkey laying eggs?!?!

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by bananamama, Sep 16, 2010.

1. bananamama

bananamama Out Of The Brooder

Sep 4, 2010
    Lazy Mountain, AK
    This is my first year with Turkeys, we started with three domestic toms and two hens, Snippy and George (named after Curious George). They were born early to mid April. About a month ago we integrated our younger wild turkey/royal palm x's with the domestics. The younger ones are about 10 to 12 weeks old. The person we bought them from had his pullets mixed and wasn't exactly sure how old they were. George became the adopted mother to the young ones and Snippy immediately started laying down in front of the toms wanting to mate. I thought this seemed odd, but as I said I am new to this. Then the other day we had to separate our hens because Snippy decided she was going to take the little ones away from their adopted mom. There was a tense discussion between birds, the pullets watching intently, then the attempted abductor tried to start a fight. We got their in time to separate them. The very next day Snippy was missing from the rest of the flock and we found her in a grassy patch digging under the grass. We moved her back with the rest and she just sat down for a long time. When she got up to get some water their was an egg on the ground underneath her!! I have also been concerned about her the last few days because she had watery white diarrhea and appeared to be "pale". Could this sudden change in her chemistry be making her sick? Does anyone else have experience with such a rapid egg layer?

2. caddyeldorado2006

caddyeldorado2006 Out Of The Brooder

her poop might be white and watery from water and not eating due to laying on them constantly if that is what she is doing. Mine sits in the woods on her nest alot and Most of the time i have to chase her away from her nest as she growls at me LOL let me know if this helps

3. PatS

PatS Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009