22 weeks, very prolapsed vent ~ I'm a newbie PLEASE HELP!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by cellsworth, Dec 8, 2013.

1. cellsworth

cellsworth Out Of The Brooder

Jun 26, 2013
    I have a 22 week old GL Wyandotte that has a very large prolapsed vent. Of course it is caked with poo and blood, I have trimmed the hair - isolated her, cleaned it as best as I could and coated her (tough to do because it's moist) with Preperation H. Is there anything else I can do??? I did read that taking away her food until dark will help and feeding her calcium which I plan to do as well. As moist as it is it seems dry at the same time, like it is making it hard for her to poop. Any advice will be GREATLY appreciated!!!!!

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
  3. cellsworth

Jun 26, 2013
    I have not yet, thought I should attempt to shrink it a bit first. Going to try later though, it's rather large. Thank you!!!!

4. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Push it in several times a day, and it should eventually stay in. You can put some honey on the prolapse, as well as Witch Hazel, to help it recede back into the body. Keep her in the dark for most of the day and give food at night to encourage her to stop laying. Supplement her with calcium, too. Prolapses can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks to go away.

5. cellsworth

Jun 26, 2013