1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

23 week old injured/sick chicken help please

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by momof2kiddos, Aug 1, 2011.

1. momof2kiddos

momof2kiddos New Egg

Feb 2, 2011
    Hello -

I am new to breading chickens. This is my first attempt and we have a sick or injured chicken.

Our chicken is a black and white which I think was a bantum. She was limping for the last couple of days and today when she was in the nesting she got sat and coming down the ramp I think she may of tipped or injured her self worse. She can stand on one foot with help but at this time is not standing up on her own. She can scoot around and using her wings for balance. She did lay an egg today as well as she is eating and drinking as we have put the food and water near her. I looked up Mericks (sp?) and when I went to look at her the eyes are still normal and she is spunky just like normal she just can't get up right now.

I looked at her feet and lets today nothing seem out of place, she griped on to my finger with both feet and I stretched them both out and it did not appear to cause discomfort so we are are at loss right now.

I have her separate from the other girls right now but near them so she can still see them. Tonight my son is going to sleep with her (she will be in a box next to him) as he is so upset by this. He has been tending to her all day today.

2. tammye

tammye Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2010
    NH