2nd try at incubating

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by loupan, Dec 11, 2011.

1. loupan

loupan Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 24, 2011
    newzealand
    Right then i have some polish chicken eggs arriving tomorrow my first attempt at this failed misserably with nothing hatch at all so i have been well and truly bummed out got 1 to lockdown and then it all went wrong [​IMG] , So not being one to give in im going for it again [​IMG]
    Ineed all the advise possible to get on the right track to begin with please please help me get this on right got my incubator set up and just waiting for eggs to arrive
    Thanks everyone hopefully this time round will be a success becouse i have the support of you guys and not going it alone [​IMG]

2. Arielle

Arielle Chicken Obsessed

Feb 19, 2011
    Massachusetts, USA
    I'm kinda new at incubating to, so I don't have all the answers but I'm willing to suggest a few things to chick oops check.

Recheck your thermometers for accuracy. You will also need a hydrometer. Read Chooks chicks page on incubating--I have much better hatches with the dry hatch method. I often have chicks hatch without the increase in humidity!

Keep incubator in a very stable environment temperature wise. My LG fluctuates with the ambient temperatures.

Keep a note book. THe big hatcheries do this also. Will help you see if any problems occur. Write all temp readings 2-4 tiems a day and RH ; I also record the room temps because my LG will follow soon.

Shipped eggs are a big risk; I have shipped eggs in now; my own eggs hatch well. SHipped eggs are trickier. Some people suggest let the eggs rest at room temp for 24 hours then put in incubator BUT not turn for a few days. Honestly, I don't have enough personal experience to know if this really makes a difference.

Candle your eggs at 6-10 days to look for development. Even fertilized eggs don't always make it to the 8-10 day mark. But you will have a clue if all has gone well so far.