3 Baby Chicks 3 Different Issues.... I think?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Kershylyn, Feb 26, 2015.

1. Kershylyn

Kershylyn Out Of The Brooder

Feb 24, 2015
    Hi, I am new to this, I mean I am completely new to raising any kind of fowl. I love any and all animals, so when I went to look at some baby chicks I was planning on purchasing, after some preparation and education, I was such a softy that I took the 3 that were 'not for sale'. Now thanks to this website and all of you bird lovers wisdom, I feel that their is some hope for these chicks.

I have been reading all of these forums and reading Poultry Podiatry.com. I have One chick that had curled toes, another that is using its hocks to walk on and has some-what 2 curled toes, and the third I am most concerned about because it, I thought had a splayed leg but now it's leg is sticking completely out, backwards-ish vs before when it was off to the side.

I am mostly concerned with the third chick w/splayed leg. The first one that had curled toes already looks like it's better. The second chick I am open to suggestions too, I have shoes on chick 1 & 2. Chick 2 is still using hocks. Please and thanks! :)

2. Jrose

Jrose Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2013
    I had a chick that got stuck under a tray in the hatcher and her legs were stuck completely folded under her, toes clenched shut.