3 Barred Rock Chickens

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by lawrenelisha, Mar 20, 2017.

1. lawrenelisha

lawrenelisha New Egg

Mar 18, 2017
    I just got my first chickens on Saturday. I got 3 year old barred rock. I have gotten 3 eggs since 11:30 on Saturday..I know they ovulate every 25 hours in order to lay but yesterday I didn't get an egg from my chicken that laid on Saturday. Is this ok or am I already doing something wrong?? What is the best thing to feed them? I have caught june bugs to give them for extra protein as well as other bugs around the yard. The only feed I could find around here is 16%protein. I want to get the most out of my hens but I am still learning!

2. tmarsh83

tmarsh83 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2015
    NEIN
    The stress of moving can affect laying. A change of diet can affect laying. Few birds produce seven days a week, you will have off days.

The other factor is how do you know they are 1 year old? It's not beyond the realm of possibility you were sold older layers, on the way down, as younger birds, and your production is already in decline.

A 16% layer feed is fine for the birds, but you need to give them some time to settle in before you start gauging their efficiency.

The other factor I'll mention is the coop/run. If they are overcrowded, or stressed from those conditions, egg production can suffer as well.

3. rebrascora

rebrascora Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2014
    Consett Co.Durham. UK
    Hi and welcome.

Congratulations on getting your chickens. Poultry keeping is very addictive and you will be surprised at how attached to them you become. They really are "pets with benefits" [​IMG]