3 day old turkey can't walk = Help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by careflightnurse, Jun 21, 2009.

1. careflightnurse

careflightnurse Hatching

Jun 21, 2009
    Ohio
    I am new to this blog site and new to raising turkeys. We actually raise a small flock (10) of chicks, mostly Rhode Island Reds and some Aracaunas for our own eggs and recently raised 15 Jumbo Cornish X Rocks for meat with great success. While at the feed store yesterday picking up horse feed, the lady at the counter said she had 1 of 7 baby turkeys left that came from Texas the morning before . All had died, all had been picked up from the post office lying on their side and just flailing. The one left was doing the same thing and said if I didn't take it home it would be left unattended and probably die before anybody would return on Monday morning. SO.... I now have the baby turkey in my kitchen under lights. The poor thing seems to have a balance issue and "blindly" pecks at food and water. I have taken some starter feed and mixed with water and sugar, the turkey is propped up with use of a towell, sleeps ALOT, awakens to eat/drink slightly and then goes right back to sleep.

When attempting to get the turkey to stand/walk, he can balance only for a few seconds and then when tries to step forward, falls backward, landing on the same side everytime and just kicks its legs out without success of anything.....

Should I go ahead and put it out of it's misery as I am getting up in the middle of the night several times to make sure it is eating/drinking something OR will it eventually mature some and learn to walk.

I don't know if it is a neuro issue/resulting from some shipping issues from Texas (we are in Ohio) or has a "turkey neuro?? disease", both it's legs seems to be going in the right direction without swollen joints.....

Appreciate your advice, experiences, ideas????

Thanks!

2. Former CFRN myself.