3-days-Lethargic, 10-month old hen dies, now a Roo showing symtoms

davemonkey

Songster
7 Years
Nov 25, 2012
Liberty, TX
Someone told me "Marek's", but I don't think so given the slow nature of symptoms and birds affected, given the age of the birds. But...I'm a noob so I admit I simply don't know. Here's what I've got:

It started with an EE about 3 weeks ago. She went a bit lethargic and progressed into "very lethargic" over a period of 3 days (that I noticed). Then she died. No other birds showed signs, but now my Roo (Fayoumis) is showing the same signs, and possibly another hen (Production Red).

To date, this flock is 10 months old (hatched last Christmas), except the Prod Red which is 7 months right now.

The behavior starts off as being simply sleepy...just a tid-bit....on the first day I noticed. Nothing really out of the ordinary. On the second day, the sleepiness is a larger part of the day, movements are slower, much more sitting on the ground, etc... Third day isn't here yet (and I'll be away tomorrow), but for the first hen to succumb, the third day she barely went anywhere, and when she did, she walked very slowly. In her normal state, she HATED being handled, yet on this day I was easily able to reach down and scoop her up. [I checked her butt for being egg-bound, but there was no egg in there.] The next morning (4th day I suppose) when we went to let them out, she was dead.

This is the first case of disease we've seen in the flock since bringing them home 3 months ago. 3 days of symptoms, then death for the 1 bird...and I expect to lose the Roo and the other hen soon. We had 20 birds total (19 now). There were the 12 from the original flock we brought home (EE, BR, Australorp w/Fayoumis Roo), and then 2 months ago we brought home 8 more pullets (Wyandottes, RIRs, Australorps) who are now 4 and 5 months old.

We've seen no bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.