3-month old hen with diarrhea - should i be concerned?

jnsnedigar

Hatching
8 Years
Jun 27, 2011
Our 3-month old hen (most likely an Ameracauna mix) has had very runny poop for about a week and a half. (No blood). She is still eating and doesn't seem to be too lethargic, but I am wondering what might cause this and how I should treat it. Is it cause for concern? There are two other hens in the coop with her. We are feeding her a commerical crumble mix of 16% protein, along with other "treats" like greens, fruit and other food scraps. I am a total novice with chickens and just joined this forum, so any information is appreciated!

First off,
welcome-byc.gif

Many things can cause running poo. The heat is a big factor, lots of diarrhea in the heat. Too many greens, fruits even will give very loose stools. Is this a bird that you raised from a baby? Or did you recently aquire her? If you have had her for sometime and nothing much has changed in the yard, including adding any new birds, etc... then unless she is acting sick, she is probably ok. If she is a new comer, she could have worms or some illness of some sort.

If the diarrhea continues on for any length of time it could be worms. If the poo dries up at night then definitely it is the heat.

Maybe someone else here will have more input.
smile.png