3 week old bantam Cochin chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by doobs, Dec 21, 2013.

1. doobs

doobs New Egg

Dec 15, 2013
    I am a rookie an impatient one at that, so I turned my 10x10 wood shed into a coop and added a 10x10 ft run connected to the coop. I went to my local feed store and purchased a light brahma. she's laying an egg a day and a friendly hen. Then I found 4 bantam Cochin chicks 3 weeks old adorable the problem is my Brahma doesn't like the new chicks will this pass as the chicks get older or will my brahma need to find a new home?

2. GreatPyrLover

GreatPyrLover Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2010
    Hillsborough, NC
    It takes a lil bit for them to learn to get along, maybe seperate through a fence for a lil bit so she can get use to them....or as long as she isn't hurting them let them stay with her.

3. doobs

doobs New Egg

Dec 15, 2013
    Thanks for the advise the chicks are still very small I'll give them a few more weeks to get a little bigger and try again she was preaty mean the first time

4. Stewarts

Stewarts Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2013
    PEI, Canada
    Best advice I can give... Set up a large box that is completely closed in and make a large opening in one side, cover it with mesh. Add feed, water and the chicks. Put the box in with your Brahma so she can see them and they can see her. She was there first so she sees the coop as HERS and she's not interested in sharing with interlopers. When they get used to each other to the point where chicks in a box is no longer a threat or an issue with the Brahma, usually a month but you can spend time with them and get a feel for the timing, let the chicks out into the coop.