3 week old chicks outgrowing largest tub I could find!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by skybleu92, Nov 1, 2016.

1. skybleu92

skybleu92 Just Hatched

Oct 30, 2016
    Hi everyone! I'm new to chickens and loving it; have really appreciated all the wisdom on these forums as I feel like I have no idea what I'm doing :p

We have 8 chicks, approx 3 weeks old, who are currently residing in the largest (150L) tub they sell at the hardware store. It was plenty of room a week ago, but this week things are going crazy....a few of them are attempting to fly out and almost making it, they bonk their heads on the heat lamp when they try to fly, they're restless and pecking/jumping at each other, and if I put the mesh cover over the top they are able to peck at it and pull it down.

I don't know how much longer this is going to work! Do you have any suggestions for a cost-effective solution? - like I said, there are no bigger tubs at the giant hardware superstore. I'm afraid if I put metal chicken wire over the top then one will jump up and get its head through and hang itself, iykwim.

Also, when would you put your chicks outside? It is spring here (Australia), so weather is in the 70s though still dipping to the 60s at times. I've heard 6 weeks, but they are going to giants by then! We have a coop and run coming by the end of this week.

Thank you!

[​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 1, 2016
  2. piggie

piggie Out Of The Brooder

Jun 19, 2015