3 week olds acting sick-swelled belly

mradam

In the Brooder
11 Years
Mar 5, 2008
Eastern Missouri
We have 9 3-week old chicks we got from my son's kindergarden class after they hatched. They were doing fine until today I noticed a few (4) of them have a very swelled belly (below the vent) and are not as active as the others.

Their butts are clean (no pasty butt) and the are at the right temp for their age-85 degrees. They also are getting fresh food and water twice a day.

The swelled area is affecting their walking and I don't know what to do for them.

Thanks for any and all help.

Last edited:
I am not an expert, but maybe some plain yogurt mixed with apple cider vinegar?

That seems to elp quite a few folks on here with bum/and crop problems.

A warm water soak, maybe some epsom salts added and soak their bums, too. They're obviously "full up" of something, and its young for eggs.

I wish I could help more!
good Luck!

I would like to know the answer to this question. I have a chick that looks a little like yours, but not quite as bad! Are yours acting ok? Mine seems fine, I was thinking it just looked big because he has a bald bottom from having pasty butt. Now I am not so sure!

I've not seen anything like it so I'm guessing - but they look like they are stopped up. You said they get fresh food and water twice a day but does that mean they have food and water in their brooder all day/night long 24/7 - if not, they should. If they don't have access to water 24/7 they may not have enough fluid to process their food. What are you feeding them?

What bedding is that in the picture - is it straw/hay? They may be eating it and getting stopped up. Have they been pooping normally?

My suggestion would be to take them off the bedding material and use newspaper or an old towel. I know newspaper shouldn't be used when they are newly hatched but yours are 3 weeks old and won't get spraddle leg at this point. However, I use old towels for brooder floors.