30X90 Greenhouse to be used to winter young pullets

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Bluebellschicks, Sep 21, 2009.

1. Bluebellschicks

Bluebellschicks New Egg

Sep 21, 2009
    Are there any issues I need to deal with to use my working greenhouse as a "coop" for some new chicks I will be getting this fall. I am new to raising chickens so any help would be appreciated. How high can the humidity be without being harmful? I keep the temp in the greenhouse about 45-50 F at night. Daytime temps depend on sunshine - which can be lacking in the Ohio Valley in winter. Do I need lights? Do I need nesting boxes and roosts? There are tables (4X8 with hog fencing wire) that they can roost on. I was planning on making nesting boxes anyway. Thanks ahead of time for the info.

2. crazyhen

crazyhen Overrun With Chickens

Aug 26, 2008
    mtns of ,NC.
    1st chicks need a temp of 98 degrees with low humidity. That temp should be gradually lowered for 12 weeks until they no longer need heat. You will need much less humidity or the chicks will get lung issues. Get a good book , maybe Storeys guide to raising chicks. It will have all the basic's in there. they sell them at Tractor Supply Co. stores. Also on this site there is info on raising new chicks you will find helpful. Check through the coop section also and the ventilation issues. Good luck with your chicks. And welcome to BYC. Gloria Jean

3. Omran

Omran Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2008
    Bagdad KY
    Humedity is very bad for chickens in general, all birds they need well ventilated coops with free drafts, so you have to make sure that your birds will have enough ventilations and thier new home will be draft free.
    If I was you I will read the whole page about ventilations written by one of BYC members, search for Patandthechickens home page, or website on the fourm she has indeed the best knowledge about this subject.

Here is patandthechickens page: