1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

4 babies dead in 5 days.........

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by dandychics, Oct 3, 2012.

1. dandychics

dandychics Out Of The Brooder

Sep 25, 2012
    Hello all. I am new at raising chickens and was hoping I could get some feedback. My husband and I purchased 12 Swedish Flowers Saturday afternoon. They are about 2 weeks old. The breeder threw in 2 extra because he thought that 2 of the 12 looked "weak" and was not sure if they would make it. Today is Wednesday, and I just lost my 4th one about 30 minutes ago. Is this normal? I am so heartbroken. I will admit that I think we had the box too hot; however, I do have it regulated at 90 degrees now and I have been making sure that their bottoms stay cleaned so they do not get "pasty butt". It does seem that the ones that I am losing are the smallest ones. I finally removed the weakest chic from the flock today; however, it seems I was a bit too late. I am just frustrated that I am losing so many chic's and was wondering if anyone had any tips. Thank you for any feedback you may have.

2. leadwolf1

leadwolf1 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2011
    Sometimes, they can not recover from heat exhaustion. It is just too much for their little bodies even if you have now corrected the problem. My other thought is that you could be dealing with Coccidiosis.

I would treat all remaining chicks with Corid. It won't hurt them if they don't have Coccidiosis but, it will save the rest if they do.

3. leadwolf1

May 1, 2011
    Some vitamins and/or electrolytes wouldn't hurt either.

4. welasharon

welasharon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2010
    North Florida
    X2 on the corrid. If it is cocci it will kill fast. If it's not then no real harm done.

5. dandychics